The responsibilities of the College and its authority are set out in the Nova Scotia Medical Act and its regulations.

Workplace diversity – multiracial businesspeople working together in boardroom

College Council

The Council is the governing body of the College and includes physician members elected by physicians and public representatives appointed by the College through a nomination process. Nova Scotia’s medical school holds a Council seat, and medical learners are represented as observers. 

The Council meets four times a year and oversees the College’s performance, sets the strategic direction, and develops policies. The College’s committees are made up of members of Council, medical professionals, and public representatives who provide guidance and recommendations.

Council and committee members seek to ensure an equitable and balanced approach to regulation.

Members of Council 2021-2022

Physician Members

Dr. Martin J. Gardner,
President & Dalhousie University Faculty of Medicine Appointee

Dr. D.A. (Gus) Grant,
Registrar & CEO

Dr. Minoli Amit

Dr. Michael Clory

Dr. Marni Goodman

Dr. Alyson Holland

Dr. Andria MacAulay

Dr. Peter MacDougall

Dr. Michael MacGillivary – Maritime Resident Doctors Appointee

Dr. Umesh H. Prabhu

Dr. Mary-Lynn Watson

Public Representatives

Ms. Sandra Aylward

Ms. Michele Brennan

Ms. Damilola Iduye

Ms. Sherry McNeil-Mulak

Dr. Mary Oxner (PhD)

Mr. Mark Rosen

Ms. Qendresa Sahiti Dalhousie Medical Students’ Society Appointee

Board room chairs